The beginnings of the Greenhythe Lodge could well be said
to have happened across a garden fence in the shadow of Stone
Castle. A local Headmaster, Leonard William Wells had come to
the new Central School at Knockhall, Greenhithe, in the late
1920's. He lived then in London Road. Greenhithe next door to
Albert Tompkins a Superintendent Engineer at Everard & Sons
Ltd. a local firm of ship owners. These two men became aware
that they were members of the Craft and soon their talk turned to
the possibility of forming a Lodge in the Village.
The Lodge was consecrated at 3.15 p.m. on Saturday, llth
February, 1934 when no fewer than 221 Brethren packed
themselves into the Village Hall. In later years we worried when
numbers approached 100 for our meetings. The Village was
decorated by the Everards with a bountiful supply of flags and
bunting from their shipyard. Not since 1921 when H.R.H. The
Prince of Wales had arrived in the district and visited H.M.S.
Worcester, had this tiny village seen such a crowd and a collection
of motor cars assembled in the 'Worcester' car park by kind
permission of Capt. G.C. Steele, V.C.
Over the years the Greenhythe Lodge 5449 has become one of the largest Lodges in the Province of West Kent.
We host all our meetings in our own building, which fronts onto London Road in Greenhithe.
We hold elections every year, which enables brethren to advance through the various offices, gaining valuable experience in the process.
Every Freemason embarks on his own journey of self-discovery
when he enters the organisation. With three levels of
Freemasonry, the progression through to senior roles within our Lodge can be seen in much the same way as a person
progressing in his career – each promotion bringing greater
understanding and responsibility.
Current Master of Greenhythe Lodge is